Debra Haworth – Chowchilla Union High School Board of Trustees Area 4

I would like to introduce myself. My name is Debra Haworth and I am running for Chowchilla Union High School Board of Trustees Area 4.

I have over 20 years experience in education as a teacher, vice-principal, and principal. I am currently employed by the Madera County Superintendent of Schools. I have single and multiple subject teaching credentials, an Education Administration credential, and Masters degrees in both education and English. I have worked in public, private, and charter schools. I have lead positive change in each school resulting in improved student learning as evidenced by test scores, graduation rates, and post-education employment. For several years I was the state-wide subject matter expert for the prison system’s high school diploma program. I was responsible for writing its policies and procedures as well as overseeing curriculum selection, adoption, and implementation. My experience provides me a unique perspective – I understand the classroom and the laws that apply to schools. This gives me the foundation to guide CUHS into the future.

I am running because I want to help ensure all of our students receive a quality education, whether they plan to go to college, trade school, or directly into the workforce. I believe in shaping our youth today for positive tomorrow. Thus, I am actively involved in the schools and community. I have coached community soccer for 7 years, served as a Cub Scout Den Leader for three years, and have been the Chowchilla Boy Scouts Scoutmaster since 2014. I have been a classroom/school volunteer for the last 11 years and I assist with coaching the high school’s speech team. My son currently attends CUHS and my daughter will attend in a few years.

I am open, responsive, take a common-sense approach to problem solving, and am willing to make tough decisions. I appreciate our great school employees and am excited for the school’s future. I would like to see improvement in students’ test scores, career pathway opportunities, and Board transparency. I am driven by a desire for our students to excel and for CUHS to be able earn the California Distinguished Schools Award.

I would greatly appreciate your vote. Thank you.

Leave a comment